Holy (March) Madness – Round of 32

Welcome to March Madness!!!

We have eight match ups this first week from March 14-17. Below are the matches and voting for March 14

The Pastors:
1) John Wesley – selection from The Character of a Methodist
“What then is the mark? Who is a Methodist, according to your own account?” I answer: A Methodist is one who has “the love of God shed abroad in his heart by the Holy Ghost given unto him;” one who “loves the Lord his God with all his heart, and with all his soul, and with all his mind, and with all his strength. God is the joy of his heart, and the desire of his soul; which is constantly crying out, “Whom have I in heaven but thee? And there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee! My God and my all! Thou art the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever!”

VS.

8) Bishop Rueben P. Job – selection from Three Simple Rules – A Wesleyan Way of Living
Spiritual disciplines teach us to live our lives in harmony with something larger than ourselves and larger than that which the world values as ultimate. Living in the presence of and in harmony with the living God who is made known in Jesus Christ and companions us in the Holy Spirit is to live life from the inside out. It is to find our moral direction, our wisdom, our courage, our strength to live faithfully from the One who authored us, called us, sustains us, and sends us in the world as witnesses who daily practice the way of living with Jesus. Spiritual disciplines keep us in that healing, redeeming presence and power of God that forms and transforms each of us more and more into the image of the One we seek to follow.

The Contemplatives
1) Dorothy Bass – selection from On Our Way
To embrace a way of life abundant requires us to be attentive. No one can live this way in isolation from others; life abundant depends upon and arises within life together. It does not lead into a fantasy future or purely spiritual realm but into the real world. There, Christians practice these practices not for our own sake but for the good of all, and not by our own power or vision but in response to God, whose own grace and call provide this way of life.

8) Ted Loder – selection from Guerrillas of Grace
How shall I pray? Are tears prayer, Lord? Are screams prayers, or groans, or sighs, or curses? Can trembling hands be lifted to you or clenched fists or the cold sweat that trickles down my back or the cramps that knot my stomach? Will you accept my prayers, Lord, my real prayers, rooted in the much and mud and rock of my life, and not just my pretty, cut-flower, gracefully arranged bouquet of words? Will you accept me, Lord, as I really am, messed up mixture of glory and grime? Lord help me! Help me to trust that you do accept me as I am, that I may be done with self-condemnation and self-pity, and accept myself. Help me to accept you as you are, Lord: mysterious, hidden, strange, unknowable; and yet to trust that your madness is wiser than my timid, self-seeking sanities, and that nothing you’ve ever done has really been possible, so I may dare to be a little mad, too.

Holy-Dove-2 March-Madness

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

